Vacation slide show (and yes, you are obligated to sit through it)

My poor neglected blog. Here it sits collecting cobwebs and mementos of more halcyon days when I actually wrote in it somewhat regularly.

What can I say, I’ve been busy. I’m about to start a new job, I’ve been working hard on a few different writing projects, and I’ve been doing the radio show.  I also managed to squeeze a vacation in there too, a much needed vacation.  As much as I love Austin, it’s always good to get back home to Idaho and see family and friends.  And mountains, and seasons, and giant cracks in the earth.

Going back to Twin Falls is always a little surreal.  I lived there for 30 years and only 5 here in Austin, but Austin has felt like home to me for most of the that time.  Back in Idaho, driving in and crossing the Perrine Bridge is that feeling of coming home, but I’m also conscious of the fact that home is also four states away.  I’ve only been back a couple of times since moving here, so naturally I see as many people as I can and do the nostalgia tour.  Gotta go take in the sights of so many good times (and battles) to get those warm fuzzies of my yesterdays.  And the subtle reminders of why I left in the first place.

Don’t get me wrong, I love where I’m from, but Southern Idaho is no Austin.  I can’t go hear great live music at almost any time back home, or visit places like The Museum of the Weird, or drink Shiner.  Every time I do go back I am always struck at the beauty of the area. For the most part it is scrub, sagebrush, and rattlesnakes.  Just lots of browns and faded green framed by hills and mountains on the distant horizon.  There is a desolate beauty to it.  The miles and miles of lonely rolling earth has own ponderous attractiveness. A no-mans land one can get lost in to find yourself.

Like this.
Like this.

But then you get to a giant crack in the earth.  The Snake River Canyon tends to be where the real action is, so to speak.  It is awe-inspiring as it winds and wends across the land.  Living there, it’s easy to take it for granted.  ‘Oh, yeah.  It’s just the canyon.  Big whoop-dee-do.’  But going back gives fresher eyes and I realized that it really is a thing of natural beauty.

Looking at the Canyon
Looking at the Canyon
Still looking at the Canyon
Still looking at the Canyon
We're still looking at the Canyon.
We’re still looking at the Canyon.

And of course the bridge that people come from all over the world to jump off of.  (and not just for pretty suicides either) By that I mean BASE jumping and whatnot.

If driving over bridges makes you squeamish; check out this horror story.
If driving over bridges makes you squeamish; check out this horror show.

 

So long story short: I went back home on vacation and it’s one of the reasons I haven’t written anything on here in a while.

In other news==>  there really isn’t any other news.  Night Shall Overtake is still shooting for a June publication and my radio show, The Headphone Bleed, is still chugging along (see link on the sidebar).  I’m still open to reviewing and promoting any good artistic endeavors that come my way so please drop me a line and I would love to check it out.  You can contact me at michaelr4224@yahoo.com.

 

Remember kids: Stay in school, don’t drink and drive, and if at first you don’t succeed just blame the temp.

 

Leave a Reply

