There gonna be some changes around here…

Jesus, it’s been busy lately.  Between work, writing, the radio show, promoting my book, and all the stuff in between, I’ve been a busy boy.  I am not complaining though.  It’s either that or I sit around watching TV.  Or play Doom. Or with myself.

I’ve been slowly making some changes to this site but I’ve also been making changes in the way I’m approaching this whole thing as well.  I spent way too much time just dreaming about making things happen and now that I’m actually doing it, I am realize just how much work it takes.  Books don’t sell themselves.  Essentially I have to plan certain activities around certain days.  Writing is a Monday-Wednesday-Friday thing with extra time on the weekend.  Of course if the muse strikes (or slaps me upside the head) then it’s write when the iron is hot. (I’ve mixed my metaphors, pray I don’t mix them again).  The radio show is usually planned on Thursdays and finished up Saturday.  Tuesday has now become the official day of book whoring.  That’s where I beg and plead for book reviews and interviews, getting it on shelves, etc.

It’s officially time to get serious with not only the book, but the Headphone Bleed too.  Honestly, I started it to fuel my long standing fantasy to be a radio DJ.  I figured once I tired of it or it got in the way, I could just drop it and move on.  The problem is, I enjoy it way too much to give up on it now.  I want it to strive and succeed.  The only way to do that is to bring in more listeners and the only way to do that is to put some real work into it.  Maybe move out of my own comfort zone a little. This will mean more time and energy on my part spent on it, but I’m up for it.

So that means a few changes, not only to the existing structures I have, but with myself.  I’m adding a new page to the blog specifically for The Headphone Bleed and one for reviews and interviews.  I’m also looking at for a better place to post previous episodes of the show because it takes forever to load more on portable devices. (I’m up for suggestions if you got ’em.)  Also flirting with Facebook page for it, but we’ll see.

And as usual I will promote whatever the hell I feel like, but I promise to actually tell the people I’m promoting this time.  I swear.  Or you all can beat me to the punch and submit your work for promotion.  Whichever.

Time to shit or get off the pot.

Yes.

Yes.

Remember kids: stay in school, don’t drink and drive, and my milkshake brings all the boys to the yard.

 

About Michael R Collins

Michael R Collins is an author of stories that need be told. Often dark and sometimes seedy, they can also be poignant. They are fast-paced and atmospheric stories with characters both fantastic yet relatable. Born and raised in Southern Idaho, he currently lives in the creative bosom of Austin, Texas. If he's not working for the man, he's either writing or annoying the neighbor by playing his bass guitar far too loud.

Posted on July 8, 2014, in Night Shall Overcome, novels, Radio, Saint Zero, Uncategorized, Updates. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Well,I would shit and not get off the pot ,keep striving if that’s what you want to do,i’v always said think positive and positive things will happen!!

Leave a Reply

