Physical books on Physical shelves.

Something big happened this week.  At least be for me.  I walked into a bookstore and sitting there on the shelf was my name.  A book I had written, and someone thought enough of to publish, was just waiting around for a random stranger to pick it up and take it home.  BookPeople on 6th and Lamar, here in Austin, is a new home for NIGHT SHALL OVERTAKE.

 

The proof.

The proof.

When I first decided that someday I would be a published author, my biggest dream was to do just what I described above. It’s a big deal for me and the last of my initial goals as a virgin published author.  It gives me the warm fuzzies just thinking about it. Admittedly, I’ve been having a lot of fun with this whole book thing, despite all the work it is after it’s published.  I’ve pushed myself out of my comfort zone and in doing so met some great folks and had some fantastic opportunities. I’ve joined up with the Austin Horror Society and met some amazing folks, been interview on Austin Horror TV and taken place in the yearly Horror debate (details forthcoming).

 

Warm Fuzzies in their natural state.

Warm Fuzzies in their natural state.

The last couple months have been busy with the big book giveaway and dealing with the radio show. Speaking of The Headphone Bleed, I’m at a critical point with it.  I either need to make some big changes to it and commit some time and resources to it or let it go.  Time is my biggest commodity and I never seem to have enough of it.  I  don’t have quite the audience I was hoping for.  This tells me that either my format doesn’t quite have the appeal I hoped, I need to add/subtract to what I’m doing, or spend more time on promotion.  If I can’t get folks interested then I might be better off using that time on writing which is my main focus.

I’m not ready to give up yet.  I’ve got a few things I’d like to do first.  While I’m still on Live365, I’m going to make it a continuous 24/7 music station with that same random flavor of music.  I will still do the live show, but therein lies the main changes.  I want to bring in interviews, call-ins, guest playlists, etc.  Not to mention finding more visible venues to broadcast from.    Maybe even getting a better player for this site.

I’m open to any suggestions and ideas, the more the merrier.

As for my next projects in writing:  My next novel is almost ready for beta testing and someone needs to poke me with a sharp stick to get back to shaping up a few short stories I’ve been working on.  I’ve also started what could possibly be a serial story, which has been a lot of fun.  Hopefully in the next month I can get back to trying to get more work published.  It’s all busy all the time, but honestly, I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

Remember kids: stay in school, don’t drink and drive, and always look both ways before crossing the street.

 

About Michael R Collins

Michael R Collins is an author of stories that need be told. Often dark and sometimes seedy, they can also be poignant. They are fast-paced and atmospheric stories with characters both fantastic yet relatable. Born and raised in Southern Idaho, he currently lives in the creative bosom of Austin, Texas. If he's not working for the man, he's either writing or annoying the neighbor by playing his bass guitar far too loud.

Posted on September 25, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

