Reviews and Interviews – Nicholas White

10498714_10152536520100680_6930532651421947531_o 

Not Quite Your Regular Interview With Nick White

The Sly Lake Gang is the story of four estranged friends brought together through circumstance to face down a merciless killer -a monster connected to a strange incident from their childhood. Apathetic insurance professional Donald Borland reaches out for his adoptive brother Darren Lemay after a horrific accident. Darren, ever the leader, marshals the forces of their childhood friends Monica King and Dr. Patrick Williams. After a miraculous recovery, Donald and his friends return to their childhood stomping grounds: Clarkson, a sleepy retirement community nestled in Northern Ontario that harbors a powerful and unnatural force. Meanwhile Patrick’s old friend Jason Brower, a small town hero and police constable, is trying to save Clarkson from a bizarre and seemingly inhuman murderer. He reaches out to his friend and learns the dark secret that Patrick and his cohorts have kept quiet for nearly twenty years, kept by the pseudo superheroes who call themselves The Sly Lake Gang.

I’ll be the first to admit that I’m a sucker for character driven stories.  It’s always a bonus when those characters are thrown into a good plot.  The Sly Lake Gang by Nick White was a great example of this.  Starting out with an email exchange between two of the Gang, you get quick access to the characters.  As the story unfolds you learn more and more about the gifts that make these now estranged friends ultimately inseparable.  The villain of the story was unique because we got to ride around in his head.  It was creepy and thrilling to get such an intimate understanding of the process he was going through from both the in and outside.

This was a highly entertaining book that kept you going until the end. Here’s hoping for a sequel.

Tell us a little bit about yourself without once using the letter ‘e’.  NFL fan. Whiskey fan. Comic book fan. Lazy Shut in. Odd duck. Witty if drinking.

Sly Lake Gang centers around a group of people instead of just one main character. Did you find it more challenging than just focusing on one main P.O.V?   I found it somewhat difficult to be doing a third person narrative – bouncing between one character and another, but it became sort of a fun exercise. It breaks up the long swathes of writing you don’t want to do. I had always been a fan of the idea that the ‘narrator’ is lying to you. It is a challenge but eventually you can show the way character ‘x’ looks at a situation vs character ‘y’.

How much of yourself do you put into your characters? Would you consider a character in Sly Lake to be more you than the rest?  They all are to some degree. I mostly take a trait I certainly know I have (or people say I have), and shuffle things around. I take something I know I do and exaggerate it, or elaborate on it. That goes for any villain I write too. I take some bad behaviour, which we all might have practiced at one point in our lives, and push it to the limit. Gun to my head; Donald Borland.

What upcoming projects are on the horizon for you?   Well I think my next book is cool. I suspect my mother will agree. I am working on a sequel to Sly Lake Gang – but in the interim I tried to write a thriller that didn’t have any sci-fi or supernatural elements. I’m just about done that one and I am excited about it.

What do you judge to be the best Canadian beer?   This is deep. I’ll preface that as I drunk I love all beers in the spectrum. An everyday beer; I’d go “Amsterdam: Natural Blonde”. It’s local, but I am sorry it doesn’t have a cliché Canadian name.

Who are some of your influences? Bonus points for naming the influences to your influences.  Stephen King, (feel like no {one} needs to write that anymore), and his influence, Richard Matheson. Those two in particular because they teach you how to create a great psychic space in your book – without alienating your audience with ’’50 buck words’ so to speak. It’s vivid but it is never syrupy. I also love Cormac McCarthy. The style is wonderful and I dig him for the same reasons as Matheson. And the other end of the spectrum, where it is syrupy, Lovecraft. The idea of the antagonist not being evil; just indifferent to you living or dying.

Ask yourself (and answer) a question.  What do you look to do when you write a villain in terms of believability? I enjoy writing two types. A grey man, who walks between one choice and another, and opts for the bad guy choice. The other is the man being dragged into being the bad guy through no fault of his own; Frankenstein’s Monster, Brundlefly…

Ask me a question.  Night Shall Overtake is optioned for a movie deal. Gimmie a couple directors who could handle it. —Guillermo Del Toro, David Lynch, or Ridley Scott.  Though, for shits and giggles, I’d like to see what Mel Brooks did with it.

True or False: Agatha Christie was just Alfred Hitchcock in drag. Please explain your answer.  Excellent question. False. I feel if Hitchcock was in drag – he would own it. Maybe even kill it.

The Sly Lake Gang is available for your consumption at all the fine retailers you expect good books to be.  Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and at the Black Bed Sheet bookstore.

Don’t forget to stop by and say ‘Hi’ at his website.

About Michael R Collins

Michael R Collins is an author of stories that need be told. Often dark and sometimes seedy, they can also be poignant. They are fast-paced and atmospheric stories with characters both fantastic yet relatable. Born and raised in Southern Idaho, he currently lives in the creative bosom of Austin, Texas. If he's not working for the man, he's either writing or annoying the neighbor by playing his bass guitar far too loud.

Posted on February 3, 2015, in Nicholas White, novels, Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

