I suck at selling myself

Selling myself is some of the hardest work I’ve ever done.  I’ve farmed, held jobs in factories and warehouses, sold (attempted) various things for other employers, and this is by far the most challenging thing of all.  I’m not one to immediately put myself in the spotlight, which I’m sure is part of the problem.  I’m a bass player for chrissakes!  My whole philosophy revolves around ‘if you doing your job well enough no one really notices’.  And that is the exact opposite of what it takes to sell books.  To sell books I need more than the books themselves.  I need to sell myself.

I am an author that currently has one novel out and a few short stories published.  I have another novel that I am actively seeking a home for.  I also have a horror novel that I am really really excited about and a possible collaboration on a comic/graphic novel in the future on the burner.  So there is that.  But just writing doesn’t sell the stuff.  Gotta hit the streets with it.

I have a couple interviews coming up (more info as they happen), trying to set up a couple more after that.  Because Night Shall Overtake doesn’t fit in an east niche, it’s tough to get it noticed.  Pale Winter Sun is a little of the same and I think that’s why I’m having a tough time finding a publisher.  But anyone who knows me will concur the fact that I tend to reside just outside of convention.  It’s not always an easy life, but it’s the only one I got.

So with all that I’m trying to combine various projects that I had running under separate banners under the Michael R Collins Media Empire™ (that’s just a working title we’ve been throwing around the office).  Saint Zero’s Headphone Bleed will incorporate more of me as a name as will any future projects coming up.

And speaking of The Headphone Bleed, thanks to some good advice I got from fellow author and podcaster TJ Weeks, I have started a Headphone Bleed Channel on Youtube.  This will be another home for the show where I add some visuals to the audio.  I will be putting in some stupid shit you can be assured of that.  Please watch, like, and share.  Suggestions always welcome.  And as always, episodes will be up at http://www.Fanboytv.com The first episode is my interview with TJ Weeks

Liking, sharing, and word of mouth is the best way for authors to survive.  Buy their books and talk about them.  You have no idea how much it means to us when you do that.  We just want to give you big ol’ hugs when you do.  Reviews are another way to support us.  I want to thank the people who have gotten the word out there on Night Shall Overtake, I appreciate it more than you know.

The new Headphone Bleed Youtube Channel ==> Click Here

Remember kids: stay in school, don’t drink and drive, and it’s only prostitution if you sell your body; I’m whoring out my mind.

Leave a Reply

