Another year to try and get it right.

Well, we made it.  Another trip around the sun and we are still here.  Go us!  We tentatively step into 2017, cautious in our expectations.  And why shouldn’t we be; 2016 was a sphincter of a year.  Yes, we lost a lot of our heroes, but we also saw a huge rise in racism, violence, LGBT+phobia, and a sham of an election.  Every year has as much potential to be great as it does to suck, but so far the deck seems stacked against us.  All I can say about it is that we need to take action where action needs taken and we need to watch out for each other.  All of us.  Even the assholes.

I don’t do resolutions, but I don’t go into anything without some sort of game plan.  2017 will be a year of changes and I am ready to embrace whatever changes come my way.

I am ready to write more.
I am ready to market more.
I am ready to play more music.
I am ready to explore new locales (both external and internal)
I am ready to take better care of myself.
I am ready to do more to make the world a better place.

I learned a lot during the last year.  Not only about the world, but myself and my craft.  I am seeing more of what I need to concentrate on, especially on the post production part.  I need to work on my prose, round out my characters, etc etc.  I also need to play waaay more bass than I have been.  Maybe make some new music while I’m at it.

For the upcoming year, I can only wish for the best, prepare for the worst, and hope that we all get through it okay.

Happy New Year.

Remember kids: stay in school, don’t drink and drive, and Auld Lang Syne.

P.S.  – I still need help with Pale Winter Sun. It needs a new edition and that takes money.  Every donation over $5 gets you little something for your donation. 

https://www.gofundme.com/pale-winter-sun-2nd-edition

 

About Michael R Collins

Michael R Collins is an author of stories that need be told. Often dark and sometimes seedy, they can also be poignant. They are fast-paced and atmospheric stories with characters both fantastic yet relatable. Born and raised in Southern Idaho, he currently lives in the creative bosom of Austin, Texas. If he's not working for the man, he's either writing or annoying the neighbor by playing his bass guitar far too loud.

Posted on January 3, 2017, in Pale Winter Sun, Updates. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

