Just checking in…

It’s quick update time!  Just to let you know that I haven’t fallen off a cliff or anything; we’re still alive and kicking.  The move from Austin to Allentown has taken it’s usual toll.  Give about three to four months of adjustment, and catch up time, before one is back up to steam with normal things.  But of course it’s not an actual big move until some thing really inconvenient happens just as things are settling in.  And inconvenience always comes with friends.  In this case the clutch went out on my car. As I live way too far from work to walk, or take a bus, it was all begging for rides and Lyft for me.  But rest assured the little beast is back up and running and life is resuming as normal.  Well, sorta.  We also have bugs, thanks to our upstairs neighbors.  The exterminator will be here on Thursday, and we have to figure out what to do with the animals for three to eight hours.  (insert sarcastic cheering here)

I really just want to write and edit.  Honestly, it’s about all I think of.  My work schedule is not helping make time for it either, but I can figure out a way around that.  It’s all this other crap that keeps getting in the way.  Who knew that just doing what it takes to survive eats up all your time and energy? Weird, right?

I need to win the lottery.  Or sell the rights of one of my stories to someone.
Anyone have the phone number for Hollywood?

Oh well.  The important thing is that Mel and I are doing well, and that I can get some writing done here and there.  And speaking of which: my next WIP novel is still in Beta reader/edit mode.  And as usual I’m still not sure what to title it.  I’m quite excited about it.  But because writers are delicate snowflakes, the more pumped I get about a project, the more I question my skills as an author of words and letters. So it’s the usual; excitement mixed with crippling doubt.

I have far too many side projects going on, so I’ve settled (for now) on an anthology of short stories, a serial if you will, involving a world where all the horror movie tropes are real and everyday.  A bit of a parody, but high on the horror factor.  My main character is in a slow process of MTF gender transition.  I’m having fun with it, and considering publishing one or two of the stories before hand.  Side note, if anyone is transgender and would like to beta read these stories to make sure I’m getting my character right, PLEASE hit me up.

I do have a story being published in Shadows and Light Anthology this fall, so that is exciting.  I guess I could have started with that.  I am very happy to be in this years edition, as there is always superb writing every year, and it’s nice to have a story along side all that goodness.

Last but not least, you can expect a book review in the next day or two.  To be honest, the whole point of this post was to say that I’m running way behind on everything (still) and expect a book review.  I’ve gotten away from the reviews and interviews, but I’m thinking of fixing that.  I like sharing new and different things with people and would like to do that again. Stay tuned.

Remember kids; stay in school, don’t drink and drive, and it’s all shits and giggles until someone giggles and shits.

Leave a Reply

